PDA

View Full Version : Topics Regarding Steam



60 Megabyte File
16-09-2003, 11:58 AM
Obviously everyone is having problems with Steam. Theres nothing the team can do about it because the team does not have the source code to Steam and as such, can not fix the bugs themselves. Many team members are also having problems.

Steam is a week old. It will improve eventually. Mad Jonesy said things well when he said "Half Life would rather be screwed up for a month then have Half Life 2 screwed up the month its released". Nothing like Steam has been done before, companys don't want to put their systems into risk by trying out this new program that relays on a system that has neverb een done before.

Steam is gradually gaining servers, bandwidth, and many bug fixes. It will improve eventually because Valve can not give up on it and they know that Counter Strike is the most popular online game, they will not dissapoint their fans.

Give Steam another week when it gains more servers and can give out more bandwidth to the hundreds of thousands of Half Life Players. Keep all Steam topics into the already existing threads please.

Quote From Svencoop.com News: (September 16th)



Firstly, the bad news: If you haven't already noticed, there's a bug in Steam which causes Sven Co-op to crash on loading (as well as a few other mods). I've talked to Erik Johnson, and he says Valve will see about fixing this. For now, you can still use Half-Life v1.1.1.0 to play Sven Co-op. To leave Half-Life intact when upgrading to Steam, just choose not to 'clean up old files' when prompted during installation.

Thank You.

Freaking Neo
16-09-2003, 01:41 PM
Very true, A few days ago, steam totally did not work for me, and i reinstalled it (just reinstall, not deleting everything) and it works like a charm, been playing The Specialists for like 5 hours straight

Exitus
16-09-2003, 04:43 PM
I also am happy to say that it is working for me. Sure, it took a couple of reinstalls and a bit of cussing here and there, but now it works!!

A Little FAQ that I made:

STEAM:

Q: My Steam takes forever to load, what is taking so long?
A: When a program loads, it has to "initialize" functions, meaning it has to load any cache, and in Steams case, check for Steam servers, installed games, and the like.

Q: When I load Half-Life, It gets frozen on the "Preparing to Play" step. What should I do?
A: Just wait a bit, as the game too has to load cache and other functions, and check some stuff with steam.

GENERAL:

Q: How come my mods aren't showing up?
A: You need to take your mods from your original HL folder (or re-download them) and put them into your ...\Steam\SteamApps\youremail@yourisp\Half-Life.

Q: All of the menues are different, and none of the old menus in my mods are showing up. What is wrong?
A: This is something that has to do with some filenames, and new formats, and the mod teams need to update their mods with new backgrounds and correct file names.

Q: None of my custom maps are showing up in-game. What do I do?
A: Go into your old Half-Life folder, and then get all of your models\maps\sounds\whatever and put them into your new Half-Life directory.

Q: My admin mod or meta mod is not working, whats wrong?
A: The new version of Half-Life has some new variables and such, and there is also many compatibility issues. Just bite your lip and hang on for a while.

Q: There are no servers for my mod!!! Whats going on?
A: Either A) Nobody has made a server for that mod, B) the servers are down (unlikely), or C), your internet is down.

Q: My High Definition model pack does not work, yet I have it installed. Oh, what shall I do, master of answers?
A: First, you need to backup all of your custom models and sounds and sprites in a different folder. You need Wally (www.planetquake.com\wally\) to do the next step. First, open up your pak1.pak in your old Half-Life\Valve\ directory. Extract all of its contents into Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\Half-Life\valve, making sure that the file structure is kept, and that it overwrites everything. Then, take the models\sounds\sprites that you backed up in your folder and put them back to their original loacations. Now, you will have the High-Def models, and then have any custom models that you have.

MAPPING:

Q: How do I set up Hammer to work with the new patch and steam?
A: This will take a while, so sit bit and grab a coke and chips.

The first thing to do is to open up hammer, then go to your Options panel where all of your setting are for the games. Make sure that all of your compilers still exist, and all of that, but the main thing that you need to do is to change the game configurations tab.

Here is a quick description of what you need to do for these:

GAME EXECUTABLE DIRECETORY:
You need to change this to your new Half-Life directory that is in your new Steam\SteamApps\Email\Half-Life\Valve\Maps Directory. In my example, it would be something like this:

C:\Program Files\Games\Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\half-life\valve\maps

MOD DIRECTORY:
This is for when you are doing your map for a mod, you would set this to a directory inside your Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\half-life\ folder, such as

C:\Program Files\Games\Steam\SteamApps\ryanlewellen@comcast.net\half-life\svencoop

GAME DIRECTORY:
This is where your Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\half-life\valve should go, because that is the directory for the Half-Life main files. (Not sure about this one, correct me if i am wrong)


That should be it for that.

Now, got to the Build Programs tab, and set the "Place compiled maps in this directory before running game" to Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\Half-Life\valve\maps, so that you can run your map in all mods that support it.

Last, you need to press OK.
That should do it.





I will update this list as i think of more FAQ questions.
Also, if you know it, then please post the Wally website, I forgot where the site is.

cscarlet
17-09-2003, 02:51 AM
Well mine isn't working as I have to open loads of Ports and due to a problem with my Router when I put new Ports on it will moan and screw up at me so am trying it on a day I have totaly free

Mr.Hankey
17-09-2003, 02:12 PM
I've confused...

Valve mentioned that there would be "Third party games" in the "Games" list. Well, there isn't.

The first time I installed Steam, it was so slow, and I finally got it working, I opened the Games list, and clicked on Half-Life, it started updating and copying all the "third party" mods over to Steam... It froze, and they never did appear...

Is there anyway how I can get it to do that again? I mean copy over the mods/maps/models etc.

EDIT: My Steam is working well enough that I can play it.

Raging_Wulf
17-09-2003, 03:41 PM
Originally posted by Mr.Hankey
I've confused...

Valve mentioned that there would be "Third party games" in the "Games" list. Well, there isn't.

The first time I installed Steam, it was so slow, and I finally got it working, I opened the Games list, and clicked on Half-Life, it started updating and copying all the "third party" mods over to Steam... It froze, and they never did appear...

Is there anyway how I can get it to do that again? I mean copy over the mods/maps/models etc.

EDIT: My Steam is working well enough that I can play it. Since it never completed, your mods have probably not even been moved. Move them to SteamApps\Your@email.com\half-life\ and they should list under 3rd party games, that list never appears when no custom mods are available.

Mr.Hankey
17-09-2003, 03:43 PM
Yea, I know... :)

BUT, now it wont sign on ... *sigh*

Exitus
17-09-2003, 04:31 PM
Did anybody just look at the FAQ I JUST POSTED?!?!?!?! ::rolleyes:

Mr.Hankey
17-09-2003, 04:59 PM
No. LoL.

Why redownload them? What's that going to do?

Exitus
17-09-2003, 05:52 PM
Well, if you don't have your original mod folder, i was saying you might have to re download them.

Sheesh :wtf:

eMTeG
18-09-2003, 08:02 AM
copy your fmod.dll too. my sc appears, but it seems that i cant run it. My console says this:



LoadLibrary failed on D:\programme\Steam\steamapps\mymail\half-life\svencoop-console\dlls\hl.dll (126)
Host_Error: Couldn't get DLL API from D:\programme\Steam\steamapps\mymail\half-life\svencoop-console\dlls\hl.dll!


GAME DIRECTORY:
This is where your Steam\SteamApps\email@isp.com\half-life\valve should go, because that is the directory for the Half-Life main files. (Not sure about this one, correct me if i am wrong)


I think its just ...\half-life[QUOTE]

tweak
18-09-2003, 09:28 AM
When I put mods in the directory it doesn't show up. :X

Mr. Chris
18-09-2003, 10:19 AM
From the Steam forums...

A Note About WON and Counter-Strike 1.5
September 17, 2003, 11:35 am · Chris Bokitch

There seems to be a lot of confusion over the proposed plan to pull the plug on WON. WON will be available until the Steam service is working the way it was intended to. We will not simply pull the plug. If you wish to, you can reinstall Half-Life (if necessary) and play Counter-Strike 1.5 the way you always have.

I hope that eases some fears.

Some of the constructive feedback we've received has been quite valuable, and we're working to create a product that everyone will be happy with.

tweak
18-09-2003, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by Mr. Chris
From the Steam forums...

A Note About WON and Counter-Strike 1.5
September 17, 2003, 11:35 am · Chris Bokitch

There seems to be a lot of confusion over the proposed plan to pull the plug on WON. WON will be available until the Steam service is working the way it was intended to. We will not simply pull the plug. If you wish to, you can reinstall Half-Life (if necessary) and play Counter-Strike 1.5 the way you always have.

I hope that eases some fears.

Some of the constructive feedback we've received has been quite valuable, and we're working to create a product that everyone will be happy with. Yay! That kicks ass! :D

Raging_Wulf
18-09-2003, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by eMTeG
[QUOTE]steamapps\mymail\half-life\svencoop-console\dlls\hl.dll

The folder svencoop-console is false. You dont need to enter -console to get a console ingame. Remove that, and try again. This time, you wont get that error. Instead, SC will crash when you try booting it. I had done the exact same thing wrong as you :/

60 Megabyte File
18-09-2003, 09:04 PM
According to Steampowered.com the Steam servers have been fixed.
http://www.steampowered.com/news.htm

I started up Steam on the first try with absolutely no problems whatsoever and downloaded Half Life at 2 Megabytes/sec. Played HLDM while downloading TFC and got absolutely no lag. Fantastic.

I also noticed an increase in server count, which will mean more bandwidth.
Its recommended everyone trys to start their Steam (maybe a reinstall) and see if they have more trouble. A new update for Steam is on the way to fix most of the problems.

Exitus
18-09-2003, 09:55 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by eMTeG
copy your fmod.dll too. my sc appears, but it seems that i cant run it. My console says this:





I think its just ...\half-life

Thats for setting up the Hammer Editor, :D not the game. Pls look at the entire FAQ.

Dysan1681
18-09-2003, 10:41 PM
I have a real problem with Steam freezing my computer (and all I can do is reset it) under the following circumstances:

1> I try to start a new game or load a game

2> I try to start a server

3> I try to access the console in a multiplay game

4> I try to select another tab in the options window

If anyone knows wether or not this is a bug or a computer specific problem please let me know. Thanx!

Mr. Chris
19-09-2003, 11:30 PM
new news for Steam:

www.steampowered.com

Mugsy2002
19-09-2003, 11:53 PM
To be prefectly Honest, Steam is Like Planetside... Fucked up and Still is... only planetside was released over 3 months ago.

Uncle
20-09-2003, 12:04 AM
It works........ b-a-r-e-l-y........

DireEdge
30-09-2003, 09:37 PM
Steam is looking like it could delay things a bit, could SC3.0 be released in LAN / WON form prior to a fixed Steam compatible edition? It would be a great way of telling Valve that we don't need their stinking steam. LAN games with the latest pre-steam HL (1.1.0.0?) must still be possible regardless of steam.

Raging_Wulf
01-10-2003, 05:27 AM
Originally posted by DireEdge
Steam is looking like it could delay things a bit, could SC3.0 be released in LAN / WON form prior to a fixed Steam compatible edition? It would be a great way of telling Valve that we don't need their stinking steam. LAN games with the latest pre-steam HL (1.1.0.0?) must still be possible regardless of steam. According to what the Team has said so far, I would guess they are working on completing the won version first. Seems more like that they're waiting for Valve to fix that client dll bug inside SteamHL before they do anything. Remember, ALL mods was supposed to work just fine with Steam, so it's not the Team's fault it aint working, it's valves.

DireEdge
02-10-2003, 10:39 PM
Your team is doing a great job with SC and tryng to bug fix it.
My anger is aimed solely at Valve. I just wasn't sure whether Steam was going to delay/prevent the WON release,
and I'm grateful that you are able to continue work on the WON release while being patient for Valve to get around to their job.

Prof. BallsKnocker
04-10-2003, 03:10 AM
Hey what about us 56k users?!?! eh?

I'm busy downloading a effing big 723mb file here ffs!

Raging_Wulf
04-10-2003, 05:31 AM
Originally posted by Prof. BallsKnocker
Hey what about us 56k users?!?! eh?

I'm busy downloading a effing big 723mb file here ffs! Steam is made for Broadband Users. Though, that doesnt mean they will simply ignore you 56k'ers... I would strongly recommend you to copy your 'Valve' folder from your original installation of half-life into the steam cache. Doing so, will reduce the time for download greatly.

¥BlackMesa¥
21-10-2003, 09:52 AM
Originally posted by Exitus
I also am happy to say that it is working for me. Sure, it took a couple of reinstalls and a bit of cussing here and there, but now it works!!



Which cache? Does if have to be the full cache or a single cache? I used the full cache last time and it didnt work :( .

Most proabaly I bet that its the full cache, unless the single cache have mod support (if they do, I bet it'll be about as rubbish as the full cache mod support).

Weirdly, I reinstalled it twice, but it didnt work. Plus, I clear out my downloads folder regularly, so about 4 hrs after that, after not moking about with it anymore, deleted all the files in my downloads folder, so I couldnt reinstall, and foolishly I had uninstalled Steam at the time. So, I have no idea what cache I should use, and I hope you know which one you used to get SC working.

How I long for SC 3.0 to be released, and somebody to help me with my problem, since I am a MASSIVE fan of SC, and I just CANT go back to playing UT2003. Plus I miss all the H-L games I layed on steam, I used to OWN with the sniper on TFC. And, I proabaly will with the SC 3.0 Sniper rifle, I beleive you got from H-L OpForce.

After somebody helps me, I will have a look at te steam fix, KEEPING THE INSTALL FILE for future uninstilation. So, it would be great if somebody could answer my question so I can play SvenCoop 2.1. again, I cant wait any monger :( .

¥BlackMesa¥
21-10-2003, 09:54 AM
Oh, hehe, Ill look above next time :D .

¥BlackMesa¥
21-10-2003, 10:08 AM
Oh GOD! I did what wolf said and its still taking 13 hours. God, What do I do now?

Raging_Wulf
21-10-2003, 01:35 PM
Make sure you dont try download every game available. Only double click Half-Life, and let it download. Since the encachement has already happened, all you actually would need to download after that, would be the engine itself and the updated game files, which should absolutely not take 13 hours. 15 minutes at a max. So make sure you dont have any of the other games set to "Automatically update this game..." and then do the standard procedures, make sure nothing else behind your connection (if there's more than one computer check the other/s as well) any p2p program should be shut down at sight.

If that aint working, I guess you've just gotten yourself connected to an overloaded content server.

DireEdge
21-10-2003, 08:49 PM
Can I add HD models to the /maps folder to see them instead of the old blocky ones? I don't like how the Blue Shift stuff doesn't work in steam.

¥BlackMesa¥
22-10-2003, 04:35 AM
Originally posted by Mugsy2002
To be prefectly Honest, Steam is Like Planetside... Fucked up and Still is... only planetside was released over 3 months ago.

What the hell are you talking about!? PS has nothing wrong with it! Yeah well, you must havw absolutly nio ram at all and a rubbish FX card if you think its rubbish.

¥BlackMesa¥
22-10-2003, 04:36 AM
Originally posted by Raging_Wulf
Make sure you dont try download every game available. Only double click Half-Life, and let it download. Since the encachement has already happened, all you actually would need to download after that, would be the engine itself and the updated game files, which should absolutely not take 13 hours. 15 minutes at a max. So make sure you dont have any of the other games set to "Automatically update this game..." and then do the standard procedures, make sure nothing else behind your connection (if there's more than one computer check the other/s as well) any p2p program should be shut down at sight.

If that aint working, I guess you've just gotten yourself connected to an overloaded content server.

Ok, but YOU STILL HAVNT TOLD ME WHICH CACHE TO USE!

Raging_Wulf
22-10-2003, 09:10 AM
I clearly told you to use the HALF-LIFE CACHE.

"Only double click Half-Life, and let it download."

Aint that clear enuff for ya?

DireEdge, if you got a pak file extractor, you might want to try and extract the pak1.pak (or pak2 if you want BS/OF hands)models to svencoop/models and see if that works. Since Weapon Replacements works just fine in steam, that should work just fine.

Morgan
22-10-2003, 04:52 PM
dont download the 732 meg one lol,

just download the 400 - 500 meg one, the 732 is only if u want to download all the official mods that come with it, which you dont need to do if you already have them installed.
if they are already installed you can just copy them over in to the steam folder.

although, im sure ur download has finished by now?



im having problems of my own >_<

steam has always worked like a dream for me. for about a month. but just recently it got updated and now i cant play opposing force. it just gives me the normal halflife screen as though no mod is loaded. when i tell it to load a game it does illegal operation bullshit.

i go to the servers tab, and it looking for op4 servers which means its at least trying to get into opposing force...

ever since the last update, i just cant play it anymore >_< and i was up to the bit where...
umm..
i cant remember its been so long :(

Panzerfaust
22-10-2003, 06:38 PM
oh god, gg steam, it totally fucked up for me now.

It crashes when I open the games tab and also has random crashing.

¥BlackMesa¥
23-10-2003, 03:38 AM
dont download the 732 meg one lol

You download the H-L cache, and reinstall it 576 times to get svencoop working.

Raging_Wulf
23-10-2003, 09:18 AM
Or you download the Half-Life cache and install it once together with Svencoop to get it working :rolleyes:

And there's been nothing wrong with opposing force for me, except for an annoying single player bug that only plays the HL soundtrack instead of Opfor.

Prof. BallsKnocker
26-10-2003, 11:54 PM
And there's been nothing wrong with opposing force for me, except for an annoying single player bug that only plays the HL soundtrack instead of Opfor.

yeh i get the problem too

anyways i got ADSL now and getting speed of 45 kb/s on local and 30 kb/s on national