PDA

View Full Version : CRC error,i don't like it



NewBlood
19-01-2004, 05:51 PM
Okay, this is my second thread, so bear with me if it is unreadable :)
---------------------------------------
the problem is the unknowen "CRC-Error" (Cyclic Redundancy Check)
i've got a 512 RAM, lately, and since then, my comp as acted like mad.

it did the followings:

restart over and over,(it restarted,then it ran for a couple of seconds,then it restarted again etc... :()

make weird errors with explore.exe. it says that it made an error, and will be clossed down,then, it opened up again, and clossed down with the same error... (imagen your desktop background is the only thing left on the screen.)

completly ingoring my mouse/keybord.

make CRC errors when installing Battlefield 1942, resulting in an patch that refuse to install the update.

makes me think that my comp has been filled with the world worst viruses.

now, then i reformated :)

downloaded the small steam installation.
downloaded the svencoop30full.exe
then, in the middle of the install it came up with this error:

CRC error, voltgore.mdl were not installed probably.

---------| -----------| --------------|
cancel try again ignore
(not the exatly the same error message)

then i thought: Oh noo!! the CRC error has infected SVENCOOP!!! ARGGHH NOOOOO!!!!
*3 mins later*i calmed down and thought:
okay, i might just get the mdl from my OP4 install.

after that, it said that capture.wav was missing too!
i don't know what this capture.wav is, but, does anybody know what the he|| CRC is ?
i don't like it, i didn't like it when it was on battlefield, now its on svencoop. is it a corrupt file ive got??
please please please! i hope it is. :(

Ahura Mazda
19-01-2004, 06:29 PM
You might have some bad memory. Check yahoo for a mem tester.

Lord Booga
20-01-2004, 06:01 AM
I had a multitude of problems with some bad RAM as well - look for a program called 'memtest86'

Warning, a full test takes A LONG time (several HOURS)

]SK[
20-01-2004, 06:12 AM
Would have thought its obvious to remove the new memory and see it it continues. Most likly bad memory. Also get a virus scanner, everyone shoudl have one these days :)

http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php Free Virus Scanner

NewBlood
20-01-2004, 07:51 AM
i just wanna know the followings:
what does CRC do?
is it the svencoop30full.exe install file that is corrupt? or is it the computer?

NewBlood
20-01-2004, 08:01 AM
btw. here is a picture of the error.
(i've translated my language to english :))

]SK[
20-01-2004, 08:09 AM
Have you tried taking out the new memory?

CRC is what a computer does when accessing data. It stores it into memory for storage and gives it like an identification tag, upon accessing it, it checks to see if the tag matches before doing anything with this data in storage.

Cesar
20-01-2004, 08:37 AM
Replace the bad RAM now. It's going to treat you like hell.

A bad/defective RAM will give you random crash-to-desktop in Battlefield 1942, and annoying "modified sprite" errors in Half-Life.

NewBlood
20-01-2004, 08:48 AM
okay okay, i understand...but, arent there only two options?|
if the RAM works, it works.|
if it doesnt, it doesnt..|
i never heared about 512 RAM that killed all downloaded install files.. :rolleyes:|
---------don't read this :) its stupid-------------------------------
anyway.
now my hl-WON update wont install!! :mad:
it stops at: installing half-life/tfc/maps/avanti.bsp!
-----------------don't read this either-----------------

damnit, why cant computers just work like they are supposed too....
Death too all computers!

]SK[
20-01-2004, 08:52 AM
Im gonna give up here...

NewBlood
20-01-2004, 09:01 AM
Originally posted by ]SK[
Im gonna give up here...

im too confusing for you?
im sorry for that, i will get a new RAM, and return the defect one ofcouse :)
thanks for help!!

EDIT: okay, got a new RAM thingy.
before i got this one, when i installed windows XP office.
it would come up with an error.
now it runs perfectly :)
but,
the svencoop30full.exe install came up with the voltigore.mdl file error again, but no error with the capture.wav :)
soo i think, if someone would be so kindly to post the mdl file. i think i would be able to play svencoop once again!

yet, the hl-WON update came up with the same error...
avanti.bsp... i dunno wat to do about this, becouse there is no ignore buttom..
anyway, office is running. but the svencoop30full.exe is still the same..... :(

EDIT2: okay, everything is getting right.
the svencoopfull30.exe missed the voltigore.mdl..
then i joined a server with sv_allowdownload set to 1...
now no problemos with svencoop :D :D :D
battlefield is working too... i downloaded the update file from the Official EA europe! :)
now it works....damnit, i lost the installer for the mod desert combat when i formatted.....600+ mb... time to download :)....
sorry for all that trouble..
well, don't you guys think you will post crap on the forum if your svencoop installer suddenly made CRC errors?