PDA

View Full Version : Steam & LAN IP



Puchi
21-02-2004, 02:20 PM
i have the following problem:
when i want to make a server to test/play w/ friends steam always takes my LAN-IP.
and no, that is not a problem solved by dechecking "Lan Game", i tired this.

we have a small router, my old AMD 400, and w/ smoothwall on it (smoothwall express 2.0 p1 ui-3.6.1)
i tried it w/ port forwarding (27015) but nothing..

any ideas?

NewBlood
22-02-2004, 10:22 AM
err,
IP your.ip (www.whatismyip.net) ?

Puchi
22-02-2004, 10:50 AM
nah, thats not it.
my lan-ip is 192.168.0.1 and the same i have when i start a server (even when "LAN game" is unchecked).
so: my Server only appears under "LAN" and not "internet".
when a friend wants to join me, he got no response from my server.

Raging_Wulf
22-02-2004, 11:02 AM
I dont have any problems with this. Just redirect the port, and it should work fine. Just make sure you give your friends your internet IP (!), not the local. Anyways, if that doesnt help I dont have any idea on how to help. As that was basically all I had to do to create working listen and dedicated servers :wtf:

Puchi
22-02-2004, 01:22 PM
this apperas when i type "status":

hostname: Puchiko's little Server
version : 47/1.1.2.0/2.0.0.0 2659 insecure
tcp/ip : 192.168.0.1:27096
map : minibmrf2 at: 1306 x, 84 y, -415 z
players : 1 active (2 max)

and there we can see: my LAN-IP....
i forwarded the port, but duh...
i also forwarded 27010 and 27040

Raging_Wulf
22-02-2004, 05:01 PM
Originally posted by Puchiko
this apperas when i type "status":

hostname: Puchiko's little Server
version : 47/1.1.2.0/2.0.0.0 2659 insecure
tcp/ip : 192.168.0.1:27096
map : minibmrf2 at: 1306 x, 84 y, -415 z
players : 1 active (2 max)

and there we can see: my LAN-IP....
i forwarded the port, but duh...
i also forwarded 27010 and 27040 You said in your first post you tried redirecting 27015. But here's it showing you're running on port 27096. you tried redirecting that one? (stupid question, I know)

If that doesnt work, see if deactivating Fire Wall or screwing around with the routers advanced settings brings any luck. Also make sure if you're using XP that you're not running with the internet connection firewall built into XP, it doesnt help at all, other than limiting you.

If it's your firewall that's doing it, it will probably need configuring.

If it still aint working after this, I really dont have any idea on how to solve the problem.

Your LAN IP will always show up as the Server Adress from within your own Network, no use in even trying to connect to the external IP from within your network, it wont work, only Computers outside your LAN will ever be able to see your server's IP as something else than the LAN one, and that's only before they connect.

Puchi
22-02-2004, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by Raging_Wulf
You said in your first post you tried redirecting 27015. But here's it showing you're running on port 27096. you tried redirecting that one? (stupid question, I know)

no, no, i changed it today... (27096 is my steamid, so just a little joke using that port)
i ask my brother tomorrow what he says to it... mabe he knows an answer..

i'm using w2k SP4, all updates/patches, i dont like XP :cool:

thanks anyways!