PDA

View Full Version : Demon Temple (screenshots)



Undeadenemy
18-11-2001, 02:43 PM
I am working on a new map called Demon Temple, or sc_temple. In it you sneak into a temple by jumping through the skylight in a storeroom and must rid it of the monsters inside. I plan to pack this map full of nice puzzels, so don't think for a second that this will be a mindless grunt-fest. In fact, I'm not using grunts at all.
[edit: these screenshots are so crappy compaired to the new version, that I will replace them soon. Don't let these fool you.]
[edit: the new shots are up now!]

Undeadenemy
18-11-2001, 02:45 PM
and heres another one for you. Ignore the doorway being blocked, thats only temporary

Undeadenemy
18-11-2001, 04:38 PM
Forgot to meantion this, but the screenshots don't show anything impressive. When I get done with the more impressive stuff, I will post some shots of them. I wish one of you guys would please reply and tell me what you think. R_speeds are great, most of the time they stay below 200 w_poly.
[EDIT: Actually, they peak at 150 and thats in ONE (1) spot not most of the time]

{DoA}DrunkMonkey
18-11-2001, 06:08 PM
good. i like puzzles

Undeadenemy
18-11-2001, 06:51 PM
Heres another screenshot, please post feedback.
[edit: Updated screenshot of this room, looks much better]

DeathBog
18-11-2001, 07:10 PM
you might want to add the lava texture into the lights.rad file in order to give the room a more realistic feel

Undeadenemy
18-11-2001, 07:44 PM
Actually, I already fixed that problem. I also put an ambient_generic in there for a fire sound. Take a look at the new screenshot. The lighting in that picture pulses gently giving the area a firey type of lighting. One thing I have a problem with is if you fall in it it makes a water sound that kinda spoils the effect. I'll probably put a hurt sound in.

KracKiwi
18-11-2001, 11:45 PM
the third pic looks great! :D

~Krac

Zealot
19-11-2001, 12:30 AM
cool, i like the textures in the 2nd pic.

btw. what happened to all the other maps your making?

Malek
19-11-2001, 11:35 AM
Reminds me a tad of Unreal... looking forward to it.

Undeadenemy
19-11-2001, 02:17 PM
Thanks for the positive feedback guys I appreciate it. One thing I'm wondering about though is how to get a door to open only when 2 switches to open a door only if the 2 switches are pushed at the same time. How is that done. Keep in mind they are rotating switches.

Shadow Eliminator
19-11-2001, 08:58 PM
Wow. This looks great. ;) n1

Basic Beecicchi
19-11-2001, 11:59 PM
I dunno, it looks like a box to me.

But then again, MOST maps look like boxes in the end.

Malek
20-11-2001, 01:55 AM
only cause we don't have the various people hanging from meat hooks on the cieling ... yesssssssssss.

Undeadenemy
21-11-2001, 09:18 AM
Those 2 rooms are basically boxes, but, I havn't shown you the rooms that aren't yet so be patient. I still need to know how I get 2 switches pushed at the same time to activate a door. The map can't continue without that info.

Rune "Viking"
21-11-2001, 10:26 AM
*caugh*n00b*caugh*

It's done with a multisource entity :cool:

Undeadenemy
21-11-2001, 11:11 AM
Thanks, I thought about that but never did anything. No, I'm not a n00b though.

Rune "Viking"
21-11-2001, 12:32 PM
Sorry then :p

Undeadenemy
21-11-2001, 09:04 PM
Heres soem more screenshots for you.

KracKiwi
22-11-2001, 02:20 PM
heh feels like quake.. lookin good..

~Krac

Undeadenemy
22-11-2001, 04:01 PM
Got 1 more shot for you. As for feeling like Quake, it should becvause it uses the DMC .WAD. Well, it uses a modified one that includes a copy of the lava texture with a different name so I could have one that wasn't texture lighted.

Shadow Eliminator
22-11-2001, 04:05 PM
Holy Shit that looks cool

Undeadenemy
23-11-2001, 12:52 AM
Heres another screenshot of that room seen in my last pic. This one has a good view of the cross on the ground.

Undeadenemy
24-11-2001, 12:54 PM
HOLY SHIT ITS THE CURSE! The curse has either struck me or I have one of my own that keeps me from releasing maps. Seems that sc_temple.rmf won't open using the Svencoop settings in WC. If I open the file it stops responding. The file still works in HL though so I will continue work on it. What pisses the hell outa me is that it happens to THIS FILE OUT OF THE THOUSANDS ON MY HD!!!!!!! WHY ME? HUH? WHY ME!

KracKiwi
24-11-2001, 01:42 PM
that fucking sucks dude :|

~Krac

Zealot
24-11-2001, 05:51 PM
oh, that's why you didn't release your other maps...

I reckon it's just world craft, it's always buggy for me

Shadow Eliminator
24-11-2001, 05:55 PM
i like this cuz i like temples. Like the ones in Final Fantasy VII and Zelda Ocarina Of Time

Undeadenemy
24-11-2001, 10:39 PM
I can still open the file under the HL settings though so I will do what I can with that. However, that means I won't be able to use any Svencoop specific entites.

Olfred
24-11-2001, 10:46 PM
try to open with hl settings, safe and load with sc settings.

Undeadenemy
25-11-2001, 01:20 AM
I tried but when I changed too many of the HL settings to SC settings it froze. Don't need to worry about that now though, the SC settings just started working for no apparent reason. One thing though, seems that if you don't run VIS r_speeds go through the roof. Well anyway, when I run VIS they should be acceptable.

KracKiwi
25-11-2001, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by Undeadenemy
I tried but when I changed too many of the HL settings to SC settings it froze. Don't need to worry about that now though, the SC settings just started working for no apparent reason. One thing though, seems that if you don't run VIS r_speeds go through the roof. Well anyway, when I run VIS they should be acceptable.

yes, that is a very good idea. lol

~Krac

Undeadenemy
25-11-2001, 02:06 AM
Heres 2 more shots. Last compile the VIS didn't do a great job so I could only shoot some areas that were less bright.

Undeadenemy
25-11-2001, 02:07 AM
Heres the second one, notice the steam in between the grating.

KracKiwi
25-11-2001, 02:11 AM
me rikey! :D

~Krac

Undeadenemy
27-11-2001, 03:36 PM
uh... whats that mean? Not sure what your talking about.

Rune "Viking"
27-11-2001, 05:20 PM
hey that looks cool :D :)

Bob-o
27-11-2001, 06:08 PM
still got problems?
I'm a code freak so if you want, send me 2 RMF files, one of the temple, and another of one that opens fine in WC... I can probably spot the error in it and fix it...
if you dont want to release the rmf to anyone, remember, I dont map, nor do I even have a map editor installed.. if you still dont care... that's fine too, and forget I even said anything :)

BTW, It's been a VERY VERY long time since I have seen a map anything like this, you can expect me to run this map in my server.. and forceably fix any crash errors myself :) I love it!!!

Hezus
28-11-2001, 02:07 PM
shit happens..

Have the same shit.. my map "enclosure part 2" is soo big. WC wont load it anymore... maybe putting more RAM in.... hmmm..

Bad thing 4 u m8, the map really looks nice...

Undeadenemy
28-11-2001, 02:16 PM
Like I said, I can still open it in HL. I even changed the configuration to where it puts the map in hte svencoop directory so that I can still test it. I'm not gonna let WC stop me. The only thing that will keep me out now would be WC not opening the map at all.

Undeadenemy
29-11-2001, 10:28 PM
I made the mistake of waiting until the geometry was finished to put in the monsters. This led to some problems since I could do a normal VIS with all the lights and be able to test. Since I didn't do VIS the level laged and I couldn't see how the monsters could handle the darkness. There were also several errors where the monsters didn't spawn at all even though I had set everything right. Therefore, I decided to redo the level from the start. Don't worry though, because progress is moving a lot faster than it did the first time around. I've improved the archetecture, and am putting monsters in as I go. I also have added the a special teleporter sprite that fits with the theme of the level. I also will be cutting down on the number of torches in a room to reduce e_polys. This will, however, make the map considerable darker. Since the level will be pretty dark I'll probably throw some surprises in to keep things interesting.

Zealot
29-11-2001, 10:38 PM
you seem to always have probs wit yer maps.

anyway, whats the new eta?

Undeadenemy
30-11-2001, 04:36 PM
Ya problems galore. I think WC just doesn't like me. What did you mean by eta? Did you mean to type beta? If so then everything is about the same except I am trying to completely finish each room before moving to the next one so that I can get as much detail and quality into my map as possible.

Bob-o
30-11-2001, 06:38 PM
estimate time for completion... = ETA

Zealot
30-11-2001, 07:25 PM
yeah, estimated time of arrival, like bob-o said.

well, anyway, good luck to ya!