PDA

View Full Version : Question about weapon scripts

Zorbos
28-01-2016, 03:35 AM
I was fiddling with some of the HLSP weapon scripts (weapon_hlcrowbar specifically) and noticed that my custom weapons are unselectable through the HUD. They actually work perfectly fine, but I just can't use my number keys or the scrollwheel to equip them. The only way to do it is to drop a weapon and force it to switch.

My first guess was that it was stemming from this part of the code:

int GetItemInfo( ItemInfo& out info )
{
info.iMaxAmmo1 = -1;
info.iMaxAmmo2 = -1;
info.iMaxClip = WEAPON_NOCLIP;
info.iSlot = 0;
info.iPosition = 2;
info.iWeight = 0;
return 1;
}

Is it something to do with info.iSlot and info.iPosition? I tried some different values but no dice. Or is this handled from another part of the code altogether? I'm sure this is a really easy answer, but I'm pretty new with scripting/coding in general. Just trying to get the hang of AS by modifying some of the existing scripts and seeing the results it produces.

Solokiller
28-01-2016, 06:05 AM
The game currently cannot handle multiple weapons using the same position. Slot 0, position 2 is the wrench.
Also make sure there is a sprite defined for the weapon so the HUD can load it.

S. H. Lynx
28-01-2016, 07:28 AM
The game currently cannot handle multiple weapons using the same position. Slot 0, position 2 is the wrench.
Also make sure there is a sprite defined for the weapon so the HUD can load it.

Is this the reason why we can't create server-specific weapon mods?

Solokiller
28-01-2016, 09:29 AM
That's only one of the problems.
There is a maximum of 64 weapons that can be networked, so having plugins use up all of the IDs would break maps if they had their own custom weapons.
There's no client side prediction, making weapons appear laggy. When we do get that implemented, plugins won't be able to use it anyway, because they're server side only.