PDA

View Full Version : admins.txt & map "deluge_beta_v3"

swampdog
02-02-2016, 04:01 AM
I was testing the map "deluge_beta_v3" earlier when I noticed that I could not switch weapons or use weapons I picked up. I was testing with snapman, who was not an admin in admins.txt, but I was an admin (owner to be more precise). Snapman was able to switch and use weapons while I could not. I tried both the regular deluge_beta_v3, and the ripent version. I then removed myself from the admins.txt file, changed the map back to deluge_beta_v3, and I was able to get weapons. I don't see it as a major issue, but I can't help but wonder why this one map has this problem. I haven't had this problem with any other maps. This was on a server that was not running metamod or any custom configuration outside of the cvars in "server_example.cfg".

Solokiller
05-02-2016, 07:23 AM
I just tested this in our internal build and it works fine with me having owner access. Either we fixed it, or something else was causing it.

recon224
05-02-2016, 10:38 AM
I have played this map multiple times with owner access and haven't had any issues. Can't think of what the problem might be though. I'll test it again.

EDIT:

Tested and works fine for me.

swampdog
06-04-2016, 04:58 PM
I appreciate the help and feedback. I am surprised that the problem is not reproduced for your game servers, and it makes me wonder what it is causing the problem even more.

It is not admins.txt that causes a problem. I just thought it was because a reload after removing entries in admins.txt fixed the problem. I was mistaken. I played map again last night and have been trying to solve this riddle again. When the problem is happening, I can't switch weapons, can't type chat, and can't use console commands. I did not test whether or not I was able to use voice communication. When another person joined the server, and then I reconnected, I was able to play just fine.