PDA

View Full Version : Dedicated server question:



^DiZnEy^
23-09-2002, 09:43 AM
When yu lets say place a shortcut f it a place and write lets say -game svencoop -maxplayers 4 +map svencoop1
:(
and run it it loads the entities and stuff and when its finnish its done.... But des it then run in lan or internet game??? If its running in lan, whats the cmmand fr the internet game? -internet_games 1? what? :| plz reply cuz i dont wanna make it easy t omake a server! :(

Turrican
23-09-2002, 10:38 AM
sv_lan 0 ?

Sniper
23-09-2002, 10:40 AM
Good question.

I imagine it'd start an internet server. Wait a while and see if someone joins after it starts up.

JuggleNuts
23-09-2002, 11:51 AM
Yes, it starts an internet game unless you specify it to be a lan game. I can't remember the command off hand, but if you're starting a dedicatd server on your own computer and are looking for it, don't see it in the server list, add -port 27016 to the command line. This makes it so you can play from the same computer that you're hosting off of.

^DiZnEy^
23-09-2002, 01:21 PM
oh... well i always almost had the server 27015 and the conenct client at 27016.. :/

DraconianX
23-09-2002, 01:32 PM
Of course its net.
Who knows why you would ever want to host a lan game from a comp and not play in it. It's not like the server will lag or anything but I guess there's always someone.

Mr. Chris
23-09-2002, 03:18 PM
Misfire has done that on his machine and if he joins, it lags the hell out of everyone.

hairb4LL
23-09-2002, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by Turrican
sv_lan 0 ?
sv_lan usually does not do anything, to have a lan you need a LAN ip 198.X.X.X (i think 198)

Misfire
25-09-2002, 02:30 PM
mr.chris i fixed the lagging prob when i join my own server.

just have to set priority to above normal and its fine.

LoB
25-09-2002, 06:55 PM
Commands for LAN server are: sv_lan 1 and +nomaster (or nomasters, not sure).

If you start without these commands, the server is viewable and usable through both LAN and internet.