PDA

View Full Version : Dedicated server setup



Mr. Chris
23-09-2002, 03:15 PM
I am thinking of setting up a second machine solely for a server for this mod.

I am thinking of the following for it:

Very good MoBo
Athlon 500 to 750Mhz
256 to 384 MB DDR RAM
8 to 10 Gb hard drive
Windows 2000 Professional
15 or 17 inch monitor
Mid-end 3d card (GeForce2 64Mb?)
24x or faster CD-ROM
Another copy of Half-Life (required?)
AdminMod w/ latest metamod.dll (Need help for that :) )
Decent sound card
Network card for attachment to router

What else should I get?

djmrmagic
23-09-2002, 04:19 PM
If its for a dedicated server only.......
dont need a 3d card
dont need a sound card

Dont need another copy of halflife. Best bet would be to download the latest hlds. You can get it everywhere, just search for on net.

Try and get a good network card, yourl find pings are better.
That will do you.

My N & C is now on another machine I had laying about at work
a PIII 700
256mb ram
3com 3c905c NIC
6gb HD - System
2 gb hd - HLDS
Windows 2000
Some shitey ATI card thats over 3 years old
No sound

hairb4LL
23-09-2002, 04:27 PM
Thats almost better then my playing computer, its a p3 667Mhz 384ram ATi Radeon 7200 32mb 14gb hd. I have a p1 133Mhz lying around in pieces (sold ram to friend) and 3 38.6 Mhz on my shelf. I also have a bunch of random computer parts lying around , and I have no idea where they came from.

Mr. Chris
23-09-2002, 05:06 PM
I need the space for the latest released maps

hairb4LL
23-09-2002, 05:12 PM
8-10 GB on maps? Wow!

Edit:

btw you wont need help with adminmod unless you are a total knob, go download it at www.adminmod.org it comes with an auto install vb script

hairb4LL
23-09-2002, 05:16 PM
Also, you need atleast a 2gb HD, cuz my entire half-life dir is almost 2gb

Mr. Chris
23-09-2002, 09:42 PM
And Windows 2000 takes at least a gig of space

Lord Booga
24-09-2002, 09:03 AM
1gb? How did you manage that? Mines 700mb... thats with SP3 too.

^DiZnEy^
24-09-2002, 11:48 AM
only 1 gigabyte? windows me takes 4 gigabyte :)

Mr. Chris
24-09-2002, 01:18 PM
Windows ME sucks ass an isn't a good gaming OS

Creeps
24-09-2002, 02:00 PM
you dont have to look at what's a good gaming OS or what's not. you need to look at what's a STABLE NETWORKING OS. Like Windows NT (NT 4), Windows 2000 (NT 5) or Windows XP Pro (NT 5.1). Just anything that's build for heavy internet usage. Then get a good connection and a crapload of RAM to make it all run smoothy. The CPU doesn't really matter. Only thing it needs to run is HLDS, which doesn't require too much.

The-Real-Game
24-09-2002, 02:15 PM
Windows ME takes up about 2.5gb for me
And it runs game perfectly with an average fps of around 70 and above with a geforce mx 2 on half life.
But if I was running a dedicated server i'd probably get an os like windows 2000.

hairb4LL
24-09-2002, 04:16 PM
Win ME is performence consuming piece of shit designed for ppl who r knob to networking, or that atleast i herd on the news after new years 2000, i reccomend ripping a copy of Windows XP or 2k *link removed*

Creeping HLDS can take alot of RAM of you change heapsize

Mr. Chris
24-09-2002, 05:56 PM
I HAVE Windows 2000 Pro on this machine

hairb4LL
24-09-2002, 08:04 PM
err, sorry for link I dident think about liability. Contact me on IRC if you need it.

Mr. Chris
24-09-2002, 08:28 PM
what should my heapsize be if I have 768 on my machine (not the one I want for server?

hairb4LL
25-09-2002, 06:19 AM
-heapsize 256000 is 256mb, I would try 600000 but I am not sure how much ram Win2k takes, I would exparament.

djmrmagic
25-09-2002, 08:25 AM
I used to use the heapsize command, for me it didnt do a bloody thing apart from allocate a fixed slice of memory for the hlds.exe

If you leave it out, windows will allocate memory as needed.

I saw no perfomance gains using it.

hairb4LL
25-09-2002, 03:38 PM
Yea, I did it once and all it did was eat my RAM, for a server you should have atleast 128 (i used to 64 but i couldent run hl and hlds at the same time)

vipah
06-10-2002, 02:56 PM
you ppl scare me, 4 gigs for windows?? wtfz, format buddy.

vipah
08-10-2002, 09:24 AM
My dedicated server is right now a laptop
Current (temp till linux port comes out)
laptop-
p3 900
320 mb ram
win2k
intel integrated lan card

The real dedicated server (waiting for a port)
celleron 400 oc'ed to 450
256 mb ram
netgear lan
Redhat 8.0