Thread: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8

    Question Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    When I am playing Sven Coop, on any server, I do not see the sidebar that says Health, name, frags, and such. Nor do I see the text below on my screen that represents the enemy talking. How do I fix this.

  2. #2
    I'm new here RadishBrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Stratford,CT
    Posts
    3

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Is there any chance that you've set your screen resolution too high? It can cut off things like the HUD and text.

  3. #3
    Bird is the word! Ray Stanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    OpenGL
    Posts
    811

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Check your alias.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8

    Question Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Stanz
    Check your alias.

    Alias??? Meaning? (Doesnt know what you mean by that)

  5. #5
    Bird is the word! Ray Stanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    OpenGL
    Posts
    811

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Check if you have your autoexec.cfg in you sven folder and if everything is right in there. But I don´t think it´s that anymore just reinstall sven.

  6. #6
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,612

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Quote Originally Posted by RadishBrain
    Is there any chance that you've set your screen resolution too high? It can cut off things like the HUD and text.
    yup.
    hud is still there for me, but the first line in the messages ("xy felldown!") isnt shown on 1280x1024
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  7. #7
    Mapper hrothunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southern Missouri, US
    Posts
    445

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Quote Originally Posted by Puchi View Post
    yup.
    hud is still there for me, but the first line in the messages ("xy felldown!") isnt shown on 1280x1024
    Is there any way to get high resolutions working properly?
    [I stoled it from GB, who stoled it from JP][I had the first 4.0B server available to the public]
    [Я достигнул 200 постов в Советском Ко-оп]

  8. #8
    Take cover!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    147

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    hud_draw 1?

    I had a friend once who mapped and one day put on hud_draw 0 to take some good screenshots. He forgot to put it back on and was tearing his hair out trying to figure out what was wrong.

    Try that in the console.

  9. #9
    Mapper hrothunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Southern Missouri, US
    Posts
    445

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Quote Originally Posted by StoneFrog View Post
    hud_draw 1?

    I had a friend once who mapped and one day put on hud_draw 0 to take some good screenshots. He forgot to put it back on and was tearing his hair out trying to figure out what was wrong.

    Try that in the console.
    No, the top text is jut cut off at high resolutions, I don't have the HUD problem.
    [I stoled it from GB, who stoled it from JP][I had the first 4.0B server available to the public]
    [Я достигнул 200 постов в Советском Ко-оп]

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    I do, but it does it with every resoultion, and every renderer (Software, OpenGL, D3D)
    I noticed my autoexec,cfg file is HLSS, so i changed it up to what my friend has for it, same problem. I also get the same problem with rock the vote options.

    btw i think its a Vista issue, it hates me

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    347

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Ninja Bunny plays on my server, and he isn't able to see any amx menus. The only player on my server that I know of that has the problem.
    Last edited by cartman-2000; 26-08-2008 at 10:11 PM.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Holy sh** since when do you use the mods server???
    Aside from that: I saw you saying it could be a autoexec.cfg file error, it never existed. I had Cartman copy and paste his, made it, still dosent work. My main 2 theroys is:
    1: Vista
    2: my graphics card (intel)

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    347

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    I've been on this forum since 04.

    I've already tryed helping him with this but nothing has worked so far, he's even reinstalled SC, which didn't help.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Ive been reading the fourms waiting for someone else to have this problem, never seen a post by you
    Aside from that (i happen to say that a lot in forums)my videocard, which im sure is causing the problem, is a Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family, the chip type is a Intel GMA3100 with the main driver being igdumd32.dll . As you can read, it is total crap, and has a lot of problems. If someone can confirm that this is what it causing the text to not show, itll probably be the main cause for everyone with the same problem and this thread will be abbonded forever

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    YAY! i figured out why.
    It was due to a defective file in half Life (or steam, im not sure which) what happened was HL1 wasnt working (steam hates me), i reinstalled hl1, same thing. Reinstalled steam, didnt work. Ran it as admin/under compatibility windows XP, worked. Reinstall hl, and it should work, and if not, steam.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    347

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    It might have been steam, as in an error in the gcfs since you deleted those for hl. The account I use on my comp has admin permissions, so my games and steam have always ran under an admin acc.

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    17

    Re: Sven Coop Text Not Showing

    Well with Vista even if your the computer admin, you still have to run it administrator, which gets annoying

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •