Thread: I need help

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    35

    Lightbulb I need help

    I joined a server some time ago and it said that there is a sfx_t error fix.Problem is,on what thread is it?

  2. #2
    Cisco Network Engineer Prototstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    130

    Re: I need help

    There had been a thread about these not long ago, it's on this category, first page.

  3. #3
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,618

    Re: I need help

    how long is "some time ago"?
    because that error doesnt occur anymore since steam.
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: I need help

    ohhh thanks and Punchi,I don't use the steam version

  5. #5
    Banned Solokiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,314

    Re: I need help

    Anything else than Steam can't and won't run half-life, half-life 2 and all its mods/games properly. If you use WON or WON2 you aren't going to be able to play properly.

  6. #6
    *hc_idle3.wav* ^DiZnEy^'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: I need help

    Quote Originally Posted by Solokiller
    Anything else than Steam can't and won't run half-life, half-life 2 and all its mods/games properly. If you use WON or WON2 you aren't going to be able to play properly.
    In case you have not noticed, Half-Life was released, developed as well as originally "located" on the version 1.1.1.0 and previous, often called "WON". If anywhere, Steam would be where Half-Life would not run "properly".

    Heck, even Sven Co-op was originally located at this "WON" version.
    Map(s) I`ve released: (RC)Lasertest (SC)Xootixz, Sc_fragtraining, Platformatic, Sc_MonsterBase
    :OMG! :OMG! :OMG! :WTF? : Dont have any of those Turrican-maps... Where to download???

  7. #7
    Banned Solokiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,314

    Re: I need help

    Ever heard of out of sfx_t?

  8. #8
    Bird is the word! Ray Stanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    OpenGL
    Posts
    811

    Re: I need help

    Out of sfx_t is/was typical for the won version of svencoop 3.0 on internet mode. In LAN I never experienced that error but now there's also a fix for won2.

  9. #9
    *hc_idle3.wav* ^DiZnEy^'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: I need help

    Quote Originally Posted by Solokiller
    Ever heard of out of sfx_t?
    Yes, and I was suffering a great deal of it deep in the past. I even used the error as my nick name for a great period. ;9

    Having this error occur does not mean that Half-Life is not working properly.
    If you would believe so, it would mean that Half-Life never worked properly until Steam came out. The error least occurs because of the version of Half-Life. On some computers it occured a great deal more, while other computers had it rather not so often. Some computers even did not experience it at all.

    When Half-Life was melted into Steam, this error was "fixed" by increasing a sound based limit from 512 to 1024 or somewhat near that. It still occurs for some, while never occuring, not at "Won", neither at Steam for other.
    Map(s) I`ve released: (RC)Lasertest (SC)Xootixz, Sc_fragtraining, Platformatic, Sc_MonsterBase
    :OMG! :OMG! :OMG! :WTF? : Dont have any of those Turrican-maps... Where to download???

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: I need help

    well,I have a new problem ! (yes you probably already hate me!) I just opened the internet menu when I see no server,I press update and after it was completed it still didn't appeared any server.

  11. #11
    Cisco Network Engineer Prototstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    130

    Re: I need help

    On Steam or WON?

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: I need help

    Won,I have the steam version too but I can't join any multiplayer game so I use the steam version only when testing maps without having to worry about sfx_t.

  13. #13
    deez nutz Jusupov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    narf
    Posts
    650

    Re: I need help

    Quote Originally Posted by tudosiealex
    I have the steam version too but I can't join any multiplayer game so I use the steam version only when testing maps without having to worry about sfx_t.
    Steam blocked by firewall? If you are using peerguardian it'll block some steam content servers. If you are using a NAT you have to open the ports for steam client. http://www.portforward.com/

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: I need help

    well not really,I just click join server but nothing gappens so I can only make servers that nobody joins.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: I need help

    hi

    i dont want to open up a new thread, and this 1 seems 2 be 4 nearly everything ^^
    just installed sc 3.0 final, edited my options, everything ok....
    i wanted to join a server, the loading screen appears, ok
    then i am already hearing ingame sounds, but the loading screen does not disappear
    so i press escape, get back to main menu and can see me staying in the servers map, like everythings ok
    when i hit "return to game", the loading screen starts blinking heavily and thats all...anybody know which problem i am talkin about?
    would be verx nice if someone could help ^^

    thx

  16. #16
    deez nutz Jusupov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    narf
    Posts
    650

    Re: I need help

    Quote Originally Posted by scplayer
    hi

    i dont want to open up a new thread, and this 1 seems 2 be 4 nearly everything ^^
    just installed sc 3.0 final, edited my options, everything ok....
    i wanted to join a server, the loading screen appears, ok
    then i am already hearing ingame sounds, but the loading screen does not disappear
    so i press escape, get back to main menu and can see me staying in the servers map, like everythings ok
    when i hit "return to game", the loading screen starts blinking heavily and thats all...anybody know which problem i am talkin about?
    would be verx nice if someone could help ^^

    thx
    You really should've made a new thread. Have you played any other mods on steam? Could be that your video settings aren't right. Change to opengl and pick a resolution that your screen supports. Also try alt-tabbing out of the game back to your desktop and going back to the game.

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: I need help

    its already done, but thx anyway

    also had that problem with 2 or 3 other mods, but it works now
    no it wasnt my video settings, its everything nice (got very very nice graphics accelerator)

    so anyway thx and peace

  18. #18
    Banned Solokiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,314

    Re: I need help

    I think there was a solution posted by Sven Viking somewhere, let me search.
    EDIT: i didn't find it, but i think it was like this:
    Open the menu with ESCape, click resume game. I don't know if it was exactly like this though.
    Last edited by Solokiller; 26-08-2006 at 08:01 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •