Thread: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    Is there any specific reason that explains why when I copy my SvenCoop folder over the network to another computer, when Sven Co-op on that computer is launched it crashes with an error about being unable to load the client.dll file?

    No matter where I get a copy of client.dll, it always gives this error. I guarantee that if I used the formal installer that it would make it work, but I don't want to use the installer since it installed additional unwanted material. What would make this work?

  2. #2
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,617

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    What would make this work?
    if i remember correctly, reinstalling SC works for this
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  3. #3
    Sven Co-op animator, beta tester, halfway decent modeler WAR_Nuker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,729

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    you should just install it, and then copy over folders like models, maps, gfx, sounds, (the addons folder too if applicable) etc and copy the wads over as well. should allow you to do what you are trying to do.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    Well then my question is what part of the installer -makes- it work? Does it add anything to the registry?

  5. #5
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,617

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    so far i know, SC works when you copy it.
    did it more than once, even between two pcs (from this box to my smaller one with HLDS).
    that error seems to appear randomly
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  6. #6
    Overwatch Mod AndY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    362

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    It does add registry entries, but only for the mp3 player.

    Make sure you moved the fmod.dll, which is located in the root Half-Life directory, and not the SvenCoop directory.
    [ PM ][ Overwatch Mod ][ SC ]

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Failed to load cl_dlls/client.dll

    Make sure you moved the fmod.dll, which is located in the root Half-Life directory, and not the SvenCoop directory.
    Yeah I did that. I haven't forgotten where the fmod.dll goes. ;o

    EDIT :: Nevermind. I forgot to check if I copied it, because I remembered copying /fmod.dll and /SvenCoop/ over the network. Guess I only copied /SvenCoop/. I'll have the results in a few minutes.

    EDIT :: Fixed it. ^^
    Last edited by Qwerty; 04-03-2008 at 12:32 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •