Thread: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    If i give someone my IP to connect to my dedicated server, they can, but its not on the server list. Eh? I have my ports forwarded.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    You have to forward the correct ports that would also allow your dedicated server to broadcast itself to the master list servers.

  3. #3
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Oh. Still isnt showing up though. I have 27020 forwarded and 27015. Why arent you on aim/yahoo anymore?
    Last edited by matman; 25-07-2010 at 02:57 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Why arent you on aim/yahoo anymore?
    My RDP access has been temporarily severed with no ETA to repair. It's not convenient for me to open up Meebo at home on my laptop on satellite; more convenient to have it running 24/7 on a Windows dedicated server.

    * Configuring a Router for use with a Dedicated Server
    * Servers appear in Steam Server Browser but not in Game Server Browser
    * Required Ports for Steam

    Maybe I don't know the solution to your problem. Sorry.

  5. #5
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,593

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    sv_region, perhaps.
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,827

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    sv_region 255 should fix it.

  7. #7
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    sv_region 255 didnt fix it either.

  8. #8
    QPU-aligned Silencer's Avatar  
    Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6,082

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    if you do sv_region 255, you have to restart the server. close window, restart.

  9. #9
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    No matter what I do the server just won't show up! I did region and everything in the FAQ

  10. #10
    warrior spy-warrior's Avatar  
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Europe, France, Paris
    Posts
    2,965

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    forward TCP/UDP 27015/27017

    Code:
    hlds.exe -console -game SvenCoop -port 27015 -sport 27017 -novid -refresh 120 -heapsize 262144 -noforcemaccel -noforcemparms -noforcemspd -noipx -nojoy -nohltv -tvdisable
    Patience is a virtue greatly needed by those who attempt great things.
    La patience est une vertu fort nécessaire à ceux qui tentent de réaliser de grandes choses.

    Server SvenCoop
    I love the mods svencoop
    World time zone & Look clocks

  11. #11
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Forwarding that port didn't do anything either. Is it something in my router options thats causing it to not be seen? Because people can connect but it just doesn't show up.

  12. #12
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,593

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Check on a 3rd party server browser like ServerSpy or Game-Monitor. If your server shows up there, you're doing nothing wrong. The server browser in the Steam client is just so damn unreliable.
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  13. #13
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,618

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    get TCPView and look which ports open when you open HLDS.
    My server had the same problem, nothing worked - till i inspected the ports. there was one port opened randomly between 1200 and 1399 called "Valve Spare". However, only on my D-Link.
    When i opened these ports as trigger allowing 27015 going outside, all was fine.
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  14. #14
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,593

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    1200 is used for the friends service. Not sure what 1399 is for :o someone should Wireshark that.
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,827

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    I would, but I don't trust that software. :/

    Everything is easier with open source.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Quote Originally Posted by Dynamite View Post
    I would, but I don't trust that software. :/

    Everything is easier with open source.
    Wireshark IS open source.

    https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikiped...wiki/Wireshark

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,827

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    Cool. I might check out what goes through those ports this weekend.

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    @Wireshark

    Damn. Nice program. Thanks AdamR!

  19. #19
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,593

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    No problem, I used it at University during my Computer Forensics degree.

    Discovered how utterly simple it is to mine for HTTP passwords on the student wireless network. You can sniff out anything you like that isn't encrypted. Had I been someone malicious I could have done whatever the hell I liked with other students' accounts -- we used the same login as the Windows domain for everything at uni. Combined with Aircrack-NG and used correctly, you can discover a lot about a network, how applications use them, and how to secure/compromise them.

    If you do decide to experiment, make sure it's legal oh, and I got a USB 802.11g adapter with the Ralink RT-73 chipset. It's very compatible with these kinds of tools
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Missouri, US
    Posts
    6,344

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamR View Post
    No problem, I used it at University during my Computer Forensics degree.

    Discovered how utterly simple it is to mine for HTTP passwords on the student wireless network. You can sniff out anything you like that isn't encrypted. Had I been someone malicious I could have done whatever the hell I liked with other students' accounts -- we used the same login as the Windows domain for everything at uni. Combined with Aircrack-NG and used correctly, you can discover a lot about a network, how applications use them, and how to secure/compromise them.

    If you do decide to experiment, make sure it's legal oh, and I got a USB 802.11g adapter with the Ralink RT-73 chipset. It's very compatible with these kinds of tools
    Sweet man. Forensics, security, and networks are my love.

  21. #21
    Mapper and valve fan matman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    113

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    Sweet man. Forensics, security, and networks are my love.
    What do you mean when you speak of love?! Crazy!

    But
    http://gyazo.com/7035202619f087e23caee60b29e4d896.png
    27015 is going out
    Last edited by matman; 30-07-2010 at 01:52 PM.

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    I never saw the solution posted for this, but here's probably what's happening. A lot of routers will obfuscate source ports of connections, so your server is telling the master server, "Hey, here's a server at port 27015", that message goes through your router, but the port gets obfuscated to something random, so the message ends up being something like "Hey, here's a server at port 37059" Your server is actually ending up on the master list, but doesn't appear because it's looking for the wrong port. You need to to figure out if you can disable the obfuscation, or failing that, make your server a DMZ address(not really recommended unless you know what you're doing).

    There's a program called qstat that will download all the servers from the masterlist for you and you can check to see if yours is in there, it probably is, just with the wrong port.

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,827

    Re: Not on serverlist, but can connect by IP

    Something I found out a few days ago is that you must specify a starting map or switch to a map after the server has started. If no map has been specifically selected the server will not show up in the server list.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •