Thread: Invalid assume message

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,617

    Invalid assume message

    Well, got this with v29:

    FixBrinks:
    Error: invalid assume message
    Description: This is a message should never be printed.
    Howto Fix: contact vluzacn@163.com concerning this issue.


    it works when i use -nobrink
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  2. #2
    Registered User vluzacn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    274

    Re: Invalid assume message

    Well, I seem to have found the cause. If you know how to code, please disable this line "hlassume (b->numnodes == 5, assume_first);" .

  3. #3
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,617

    Re: Invalid assume message

    unfortunally i cannot code, but i know who can- besides you.
    what does that acutally mean in no-coder term, and what are brinks?
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  4. #4
    Registered User vluzacn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    274

    Re: Invalid assume message

    Quote Originally Posted by Puchi View Post
    what does that acutally mean in no-coder term, and what are brinks?
    When a player move along these surfaces, in some situations, he get stuck at these edges. I call these edges brinks.
    Attachment 15037
    Attachment 15038

    The red line marks a brink.
    Actually brinks are objects in the 'cliphull', and they do not correspond to any visible brushes or edges. But I will still take this brush edge as an example, because it has a similar structure.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	71 
Size:	42.1 KB 
ID:	15434

    Whether a brink will block the player is determined by the structure in a small cylinder that surrounds it.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	48.3 KB 
ID:	15435

    The structure is calculated from 'clipnode' information and abstracted into something like a pie chart.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	7.3 KB 
ID:	15436

    Most of the code focus on calculating the structure, while that piece of code is used to check whether the calculation is correct, specifically, it checks the number of "nodes" in the pie chart. That piece of code is not necessary, but if there is any bug in the calculation, it is likely that the bug will mess up the structure and trigger the alarm.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.png 
Views:	58 
Size:	24.6 KB 
ID:	15437

    In your case, it seems to be false positive. I think I made some mistakes in the checking.

  5. #5
    Donated 15NS$ for Sven's Holiday at the Bahamas Puchi's Avatar  
    Artist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Akihabara, Bochum or Sailune
    Posts
    5,617

    Re: Invalid assume message

    thank you for that great explanation
    Do it with passion, or not at all.
    Do not say everything you know. Know everything you say.
    [ MarySP ][ nacl-h2o ][ The next SC Version ♥♥♥♥ing pwns! ][Puchis Maps ]

  6. #6
    Still learning wolf-3d's Avatar  
    Tester
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Somewhere Warm.
    Posts
    1,464

    Re: Invalid assume message

    ^ thank you for that great explanation

    Also Great Feature , even if it is slightly bugged, as it still clears all the "sticky edges" (brinks) in my map
    Regards
    Wolf-3D

  7. #7
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,564

    Re: Invalid assume message

    I have disabled this line in my own build, however this error still occurs (build VL30).

    Posting to verify the forum search feature works.
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  8. #8
    Registered User vluzacn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    274

    Re: Invalid assume message

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamR View Post
    I have disabled this line in my own build, however this error still occurs (build VL30).
    That's weird. But I have another bug that caused "BrinkSplitClipnode: internal error: couldn't find clipnode". Perhaps they are related. Please check the new hlbsp.exe with the bug fixed.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,564

    Re: Invalid assume message

    I see your brink.cpp is quite different from the one in your VL30 release. I tried using that one but still get this issue. (also did a compare against the whole source to make sure all other source files were identical -- a lot of differences found)
    Last edited by AdamR; 09-10-2013 at 03:43 AM.
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

  10. #10
    Registered User vluzacn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    274

    Re: Invalid assume message

    Sorry, I uploaded the wrong version of the file. Try this one. It should give more detailed message if an error occurs during brink fix. (you can just copy the new brink.cpp and cmdlib.h into v30 and see the result)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by vluzacn; 09-10-2013 at 04:26 AM.

  11. #11
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,564

    Re: Invalid assume message

    Looks like I'm getting a more suitable error now:
    Error: FixBrinks: parameter maxsize > 32768
    This is just because the clip node limit is 65536 in my build instead of 32768. (engine change)

    Thanks
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •