Thread: Model replacement bugs

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    func_vehicle enthusiaist w00tguy123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    U.S. West
    Posts
    1,596

    Model replacement bugs

    I recently had the chance to do some thorough testing on model replacement (per-entity and with globalmodellist). Here's what I found:
    (Sorry I haven't made proper bug reports in the tracker... yet... maybe...)

    Issue #1:
    Using some models with some monsters will cause a crash, either immediately or after performing some action:
    • Nihilanth and Alien Controller crash with most models
    • Apache and Sentry crash if model has less than 2 bone controllers
    • p_weapons crash if the model uses a separate model for textures
    • p_weapons crash if the model is missing animation models (otisf01.mdl)
    • Many monsters will crash if replacement model is meant for another monster.

    See the attached text file for more cases.

    Issue #2:
    GMR can cause a crash if a replacement model has been replaced in the same file. Example:
    Code:
    "models/w_grenade.mdl" "models/gman.mdl"
    "models/gman.mdl"      "models/islave.mdl"
    This will cause "Host no precache: islave.mdl" error. The order of lines doesn't matter. Using custom_precache does not fix the error.

    islave.mdl and gman.mdl can be any other model - w_grenade.mdl is causing the problem. So far I've only seen this happen with w_weapon models. Maybe something to do with w_svencoop_pickup.mdl?

    Issue #3:
    GMR can't find models with spaces in the file path (e.g. models/KscT/MasterChief Model/weapon/v_9mmAR.mdl). Entity-level replacement doesn't care about spaces.

    Issue #4:
    Sprites will crash the game if both of the following conditions are met:
    - The sprite format is "Normal" or "Additive"
    - The number of pixels of any frame (Width x Height) is not divisible by 4
    Credits to Keen for making the only sprite with these properties (oxy/dogfad.spr)

    Issue #5:
    After loading a lot of model/sprite textures (accumulated across level changes), the game will crash with this error: 'Texture Overflow: MAX_GLTEXTURES'. Can happen in as few as 2 map changes, depending on what models are used.

    Issue #6:
    After loading a lot of model replacements in general (accumulated across level changes) the game will crash with no error or "Alloc Block: Full". Happens about every 6-12 map changes with random models for each map. It's more like 20-40 map changes if all the GMR files are the same.
    edit: Tested this on a dedicated server and the error is "Cache_Free: not allocated"

    Issue #7:
    custom_precache will crash with certain models:

    models/txas/servers.mdl
    models/zombie_nights/zombie.mdl

    Out of about 4000 models I tested, these were the only ones that caused a crash. What's so special about these?

    Issue #8:
    The game will crash with no error if you are 1 model under the model limit. If you're at or over the limit you get the nicer 512 models error message.

    Issue #9:
    monster_roach and monster_nihilanth ignore their model keyvalue. Their models can only be replaced via GMR.

    Issue #10:
    RES files contribute to the model limit, even if the listed items aren't models. So, if you list 512 sounds, the client will crash with a max precache error.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by w00tguy123; 10-04-2015 at 01:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,827

    Re: Model replacement bugs

    Nice testing, nice finds!

  3. #3
    Registered User banan2288's Avatar  
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    246

    Re: Model replacement bugs

    Pretty nice! Hope those bugs gets fixed someday. Also I noticed that spawning massive amount of models in-game (e.g. through env_shooter) make some of the invisible (they are not rendered), but they can still be heard (material sound of env_shooter is playing, so those models are physically still spawning). Game is finally crashing with no errors, and the mouse sensitivity won't revert to windows default.

  4. #4
    func_vehicle enthusiaist w00tguy123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    U.S. West
    Posts
    1,596

    Re: Model replacement bugs

    ^ I noticed that too. I think that has to do with the visible entity limit which is usually safe to exceed. I can spawn about 1000 models in a few seconds without crashing. Servers might react differently though.
    Love,
    w00tguy

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    Re: Model replacement bugs

    Idk why but for some reason model replacement doesn't work for me. No models in my game are replaced, no matter what config settings i change.

  6. #6
    Administrator AdamR's Avatar  
    Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales [UK]
    Posts
    8,569

    Re: Model replacement bugs

    Which models are you trying to replace?
    Adam "Adambean" Reece
    Sven Co-op team

    Also on: Steam | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Twitch
    Released AMXX plug-ins: Bind number slots | NextMap with Sven Co-op fix | Sven Co-op administrator icons

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •